Dummy units help

Rakaesa

Reaction score
Okay, I have never used dummy units before but I do generally understand them after a thread I made quite a while back had been answered. I know you create the dummy unit and give it the model you want for the spell or event, and any auras you might need on it. But there's one thing I still don't understand how to do with dummy units.

How do you figure out exactly where to create the dummy unit?

You have your hero, right? So how do you say create 5 dummy units in a line to his right, left, down and up sides. Or even more complicated, make some kind of big shape around him like a star or circle? I don't understand how to place them exactly where you want them to be, or how to measure the distance of how far from the hero they are. Any help?

skyblader

You're living only because it's illegal killing.
Reaction score
set pointVar = position of your unit
set pointVar2 = pointVar offset by distance towards your angle (For example offset by 200 towards 90 degrees (top, or north)
set pointVar3 = pointVar2 offset by distance towards your angle (For example offset by 400 towards 90 degrees (top, or north)
set pointVar4 = pointVar3 offset by distance towards your angle (For example offset by 200 towards 270 degrees (bottom, or south)
set pointVar5 = pointVar4 offset by distance towards your angle (For example offset by 200 towards 0 degrees (right, or east)
set pointVar6 = pointVar4 offset by distance towards your angle (For example offset by 200 towards 180 degrees (left, or west)

This makes a cross infront of the to the north of the caster.

Rakaesa

Reaction score
Right, bit confusing but I see what you're saying and sort of see how to do it. That would require lots of point variables for more complex spells. But if it always does only north, that'll be a little annoying. So lets say I wanted a dummy spell to be facing wherever the hero itself is facing, how would I do THAT kind of dummy spell?

jackall