How To Upload A Screenshot

WolfieeifloW

WEHZ Helper
Reaction score
Created By: Wolfie[NoCT]

This is my first attempt at a tutorial, suggestions/constructive criticism are welcome, flaming is not.
Feel free to rate the thread also!
Flaming will most likely result in -rep from me, and others.

You don't know how to upload a screenshot?
Well read this tutorial and by the end you'll be a pro at it!

All you need to accomplish this task is:
  • A computer
  • A photo editing program (Even 'Paint' will do)
  • Access to the internet

Contents

I've made a table of contents for users who just need to know certain parts and/or just forget certain steps.

NOTE: To find a step quicker, highlight the code in the []'s (example: ^wip) and press CTRL + F;
Now press "Next" twice in the "Find" box that came up.

1. What is a screenshot? [^wis]
2. How to take a screenshot. [^hts]
3. Saving the screenshot. [^sts]
4. Uploading the screenshot. [^uts]
5. Putting your screenshot into a post on TH.net! [^pyt]
6. Making your image a link! [^myl]
7. Why make this tutorial? [^wmt]

1. What is a screenshot?[^wis]

A screenshot is a picture of your monitor in it's current state.
When you press the PRINT SCREEN button, your computer will copy a picture of your monitor, and all it's contents visible on the screen, onto the computers clipboard.
With this copied image, you can paste it into a photo editing program and do anything you want with it!

2. How to take a screenshot.[^hts]

To take a screenshot, locate the Print Screen / SysRq button on your keyboard.
It may differ in looks a little bit from keyboard to keyboard, so here's a couple images:
prtscrnbutton2wz8.jpg
- - -
prtscrnbuttonoverallqb5.jpg
- - -
prtscrnbutton1ov8.jpg

3. Saving the screenshot.[^sts]

You have to save the screenshot to your computer's hard drive before being able to upload and post it.
To do this simply open any photo editing program you have [Even Paint works] and press CTRL + V.