SC2 3D fanart, Pylon WIP

Sooda

Diversity enchants
Reaction score
Decided to post WIP (work in progress) of a SC2 Pylon which I am doing, model itself is ready. Texturing is next thing to do. I was inpatient and wanted to see how it looks really quickly. So I made quick (in my terms XD) texture:
My version:
attachment.php

Now real Starcraft 2 Pylon, isn't it cute?
pylon_1.jpg

I know my crystal is missing transparency, I tried to do it, but failed. Texture is going to be pain in the ass to draw because of these symbols on Pylon ring.
My Pylon seems kinda gray, though I like it overall. Burst of creation took me around 4 hours (mostly modeling, 1h texture -- I am not good at it).

Technical info: it has triangles and 4-gons (squares? Polygons <5) and around 200 vertecies (or was it faces XD).

EDIT: Made with Blender (3D) and the Gimp (Texture).

Attachments

• SC2_Pylon_WIP.jpg
    SC2_Pylon_WIP.jpg
    20.9 KB · Views: 1,335

undeadorcjerk

The Ulitimate TheHelper.net Lurker
Reaction score
Nice, I'd like to see the finished product.

gameman

It's been a long, long time.
Reaction score
nothing wrong with borrowing the crystal doodads skin from wc3; so you can have the crystal have a good look.

Sooda

Diversity enchants
Reaction score
Thanks for feedback, using Warcraft 3 crystal texture is good idea. Also I try to not use copyrighted material (textures that I use) because I am not sure is such use seen as "fair use". I took current crystal and orange ring texture from cgtextures.com, I had to register first there.

I am tired, after resting I start making new texture -- it can take time. Starting takes time, when I have fired up the Gimp I finish texture from half hour to one hour.

Sooda

Diversity enchants
Reaction score
I announce this Pylon project finished. I have still long road to walk when speaking about texturing. I have difficulties knowing where my painted texture ends on model in the end. I used model painting to draw out main lines.