Sculptris

Moridin

Snow Leopard
Reaction score
For those who don't want to read:
Sculptris is a really intuitive, easy to use 3D model editor/maker. It uses a really simple but powerful interface to give awesome results. Definitely a recommendation from me.

For those who don't mind reading a bit:

Sculptris is a 3D Modeling software that is:
1) Free
2) Easy to use
3) Somewhat powerful (not as powerful as retail products like 3DS Max, Maya or Zbrush though)

It uses a dynamic tessellation of the model's vertices to give you easy smooth surfaces. It also has a very simple interface which (Imo) is more attuned to organic shapes and models.

Sculptris Trailer:

[youtube]6DNRg6pdNeE[/youtube]

---------------------
To get an idea of how easy it is to use, I will use the example of myself. I have no modeling experience or official certification. All I have is a slightly artistic inclination.

Here's something I came up with in around 2 and a half hours of fiddling with the program:

[youtube]oOH_TMdyJQk[/youtube]

Here's a download link to Sculptris!
Official Forums

I highly recommend trying it out :D.

Moridin

Snow Leopard
Reaction score
I should also say that sculptris is a 5mb file :p. (which is tiny compared to other retail modeling tools).

It also takes a lot of processing because of the dynamic tesselation of the mesh. Thankfully it has a periodic autosave and recovery system, but be prepared for crashes if you go crazy with the details :p.

Edit: Crashes of sculptris, not your comp :p.

Rhymer

You can change this now in User CP.
Reaction score
Looks awesome :)

Can it do simple animations, like say the wheels on a car or a helicopters rotors?

Cheers;
//Rhymer

Moridin

Snow Leopard
Reaction score
Nope, no animating. :p The guy who made it (Dr. Petter) meant for it to only sculpt models.