Why are Jass better then WE

DKigorDK

Reaction score
Hey in this forum i can truly call myself a newbie, but my question is why are Jass that much better then GUI.

cos you are bound by the same rules, with the (Event, Condition, Action)

plz help me out, cos in the near featur I will be starting on making an RPG, i have over 2 years experience with WE, but none with Jass.

so my problem is, GUI or Jass for the Triggers?

:)

Draphoelix

It's not the wintercold that's killing me
Reaction score
WE is the program, JASS and GUI is the scripts, GUI is the normal one .. JASS is that custom language/script .. I think. JASS is always better (I heard). But well I prefer GUI, easiest to learn and simplier. But if I got time I would like to learn JASS. Nothing is wrong with GUI.

Read tutorials to know what JASS is and why it's "better".

Knight7770

Hippopotomonstrosesquiped aliophobia
Reaction score
JASS is better.
By WE, you mean GUI.

Trollvottel

never aging title
Reaction score
jass is the script language of warcraft, gui is just an interface for jass to make it usable for newbies. Jass is not always better but there are many points why to prefer jass..... i wont list them all here but heres a short overview:

you can use local variables
since GUI uses some functions which only call different functions which do the same your coding in Jass can be much more efficent than in GUI - if you are a good coder...

for more points, i think there is a tutorial (or many) on this site which tells you the good and bad sides of jass...

Knight7770

Reaction score
for more points, i think there is a tutorial (or many) on this site which tells you the good and bad sides of jass...
I wouldn't bother with all of those; either learn JASS, or don't. If you already know a programming language, JASS will be even easier.

Flare

Stops copies me!
Reaction score
so my problem is, GUI or Jass for the Triggers?