Very high Handles count

kalee

Reaction score
Hello, i'm still new at mapping so don't blame me for my inexperience :p

Well, straight to the problem now. i've started making a map and i've noticed after some time, the map start lagging so i figured it was related to handles. i downloaded 2 handles counters, with one working at a time, so they wouldn't cause problems to each other. Both counters say : 9000 starting handle and they grow with at least 70 handle / second. i figured that was abnormal so i'm asking you guys, what could be the problem. tryed to remove any leak i'm aware of ( Units, Groups, etc .. ) without success. Starting Handle id still big and so is the their growth.

if you anyone have sometime to spare with Mapper Newbie Fellow, i can even past the triggers if its necessary, this community is most trustful. Thanks.

kalee

kalee

Reaction score
Hello Jesus4Lyf, thanks for your reply, i tried your system this morning, all it showed me is : 750 Group average and 350 Fog functions. does this mean there is some groups leaking ? your system tells me there is no timer nor Agent working ( always 0 ) which is a bit weird too :s hope to hear from ya soon

Jesus4Lyf

Good Idea™
Reaction score
it showed me is : 750 Group average and 350 Fog functions. does this mean there is some groups leaking ?
Probably. :thup:
Whatever is increasing is leaking.
You might be leaking handles themselves, which Agent Stats does not detect (I think).

Edit:
>350 Fog functions
That might be a bug. I need to look into it. :p

Edit: FogStates are probably actually handle id leaks, where the agent is destroyed but the handle id has local var references to it (not setting vars to null when you're done). .. Something like that. The counters are never completely accurate, either, by the way. :p

Azlier

Old World Ghost
Reaction score
Well, doodads aren't handles.

kalee

Reaction score